My Guatemala home

September 10, 2009 at 10:02 pm 2 comments

Araminta and Paulina in the kitchenAfter some airline delays, I arrived in Guatemala four days ago. My first day here was pretty lonely. The next day, however, I ventured out a little to find a bank. I was very afraid of getting lost because street signs are rare. Later that day, Araminta (the woman I’m staying with) asked me to go for a walk with her twice. I was very pleased to receive such invitations. I told her how I felt and she said all students go through the same thing. That put me at ease. To the left is a picture of Araminta and her amazing cook, Paulina.

In addition to Araminta, I am staying with two other students, Tristan (originally from Australia) and Steve (from England). Both of them are friends from high school in England. (They just graduated and are heading to college soon.) Araminta’s daughter and high school grandson (Claudia and Daniel) also drop by often. Both of them speak Spanish well. Daniel attends a bilingual school and speaks English with an American accent.

Lis in the gardenA young woman named Lis is Araminta’s maid. She works in my room too while I’m there. (Believe it or not, she changes the bedspread twice a week, as well as cleans the bathroom, dusts, and sweeps. I’m getting very spoiled.) To the right is a picture of Lis working in the garden. I took the picture while standing just outside my bedroom. There is nothing separating the hallway where I was standing with the garden. Everything is open. There may be some windows and a wall adjacent to the garden, but fresh air circulates through the whole house.

A few nights ago, I invited Tristan and Steve over to my room for computer play. I warned them, however, it meant that they’d have to play the guitar for me. (I love acoustic guitars!) Steve was happy to sing and play, especially after offering him some See’s candy. Tristan, however, has been a bit under the weather and had to get to bed early.

Steve at the computer

I had something special awaiting me when I arrived: three parakeets and a canary right outside my door! I was so pleasantly surprised. I talk to them as I talk to my own birds. It’s wonderful. They make me feel at home—right here in Guatemala. Thanks, Lord, for all these blessings.

Araminta birds

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Guatemala awaits Under the weather

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Miss Saugar  |  September 11, 2009 at 3:28 am

    Hi Diana!

    I’m glad for the special bird surprise from the Lord! Sounds like a great place so far with good housemates, etc. How are the classes going?

    Bye for now,
    Patty

    Reply
    • 2. Diana Snodgrass  |  September 12, 2009 at 8:50 pm

      Thanks, Patty. It was good to talk to you on the phone earlier. I have already updated my Pingo account and you should be able to use it now.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



